How many division in Bangladesh?


How many division in Bangladesh?

Bangladesh is split into eight Divisions (Bibhag) and 65 Districts (Jela, Zila, Zela), though these have solely a restricted function in public coverage. For the needs of native authorities, the nation is split into Upazila (sub-districts), Municipalities, Metropolis Firms and Union Councils (or rural councils). The diagram beneath outlines the 5 tiers of presidency in Bangladesh.

Historically Bangladesh is split between 4 areas by the fertile Ganges-Brahmaputra delta; fashioned by the confluence of the Ganges (native identify Padma or Pôdda), Brahmaputra (Jamuna or Jomuna), and Meghna rivers and their respective tributaries.

Northern Bengal: comprising Rajshahi Division and Rangpur Division.
Japanese Bengal: comprising Chittagong Division, Sylhet Division and proposed Comilla Division, identified for the Surma-Meghna River System.
Central Bengal: comprising Mymensingh Division and Dhaka Division, excluding proposed Faridpur Division.
Southern Bengal: comprising Barisal Division, Khulna Division and proposed Faridpur Division.

Bangladesh is split into eight main administrative divisions (Bengali: বিভাগ Bibhag). Every division is called after the most important metropolis inside its jurisdiction that serves as the executive capital of that division:

Barisal (বরিশাল Barishal)
Chittagong (চট্টগ্রাম Chittagong)
Dhaka (ঢাকা Dhaka)
Mymensingh (ময়মনসিংহ Mymensingh)
Khulna (খুলনা Khulna)
Rajshahi (রাজশাহী Rajshahi)
Rangpur (রংপুর Rangpur)
Sylhet (সিলেট Sylhet)
Proposed divisions

Comilla Division – proposed to consist six northwestern districts of the present Chittagong Division, previously often called Comilla Area.
Faridpur Division – proposed to consist 5 southern districts of the present Dhaka Division.

Share this post

scroll to top